Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

curiosity about addiction ?

I am just curious....I have been a frequent visitor to the forum after finding it through the anxiety forum.  I post occasionally when I feel like I can help, but I am not an addict, so I try not to overstep.  I am a nursing student very interested in the psychology of addiction.  In my studies about chronic pain management last night, there was a section about how some patients might be concerned about addiction, and balk at prescribed opiates.  It stated that health care professionals are supposed to counsel patients about how UNlikely it is to become addicted when taken as prescribed for legitimate pain.  It further stated that there is a difference between tolerance/dependance and addiction.  It differentiated these by a psychological factor....the desire to "get high".  In reading the posts, I am guessing that a few people would disagree with this.  How blurred is the line between dependance and addiction for you guys, and how easy does the former become the latter?  Thanks, guys, and I do pray for all of you.....creek & all trying so hard--I am proud of you....keep it up!
10 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I can honestly say that with tolerance comes addiction. As the brain see it there really isn't a difference. We all started taking these for legit reasons and ended up taking them for a long period of time. With that comes the tolerance then one day you feel better, no more pain and you stop taking the meds. And you will never experience anything like it, the W/D's are horrible!!! Have you ever seen someone on TV trying to kick a heroin habit?? Well, that is exactly what this is and the same symptoms. And nothing will take that away but more opiates...so you get more, and more and there you have it...addiction. So the line is very, very thin and they are very addictive.
Helpful - 0
Welcome to the site........