Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

need some advice Please

I have tapered down from 240 mg of oxy to 20 mg of hydro. I went from 4 10/325 hydro to 2 10/325 two days ago. I take my first dose at noon and then again at 6pm. The wd's are really bad. Is this going to help me in the end or am i just making it worse by taking my doses so far apart and just making the pain last longer. I guess what i am asking is should i just go cold turkey from here or continue to taper. I was going to go to 5/325 twice a day next.

thanks
Josh
6 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Josh,

I am not very informative as some of the other folks on here....I know that I just like the drugs! You will get tons of advice, as I am sure you have seen and experienced so far....just keep going! You are doing great. Keep busy! Go run around the block!

Liz
Helpful - 0
Hi Josh,

Just my opinion, as I am no doctor or expert...  I think you are probably just prolonging the pain and w/d.  

I read stories on here all the time about tapering and these people are so strong to be going through the physical w/d for SOOOOO long.  

C/T was the only way for me...  I couldn't taper (no willpower) and I couldn't stand the thought of the physical w/d dragging on and on.

Izzy
Helpful - 0
192332 tn?1189755828
I had to c/t off 80mg a day.It wasnt fun but it the physical **** is over but the psycological is still hanging on a little.Never again! Good luck.
Helpful - 0
I tried to taper for years and couldn't do it.  Finally went c/t from 150mg hydro a day and I'm at day 18 now.  You have to decide what is best for you.  My worst wd's lasted about 4 days but I'm still a little sluggish at 18 days but nothing like the initial wd's.  I'm so glad that I finally went c/t!
Helpful - 0
Thanks for all of your replies I actually feel ok except for the burning chest hard to breathe feeling. I am not sure if this is just panic and nerves or if it is part of the withdrawals i have had ever since I started this taper.

Josh
Helpful - 0