Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

methdone detox

hi this is my first time doeing this but i need help i am 48 i have been a addict for 15 years like the restof us i lost my famialy ,busniess and self respect. About four years i went to the methdone clinic and for the past 3  years i have been clean nothing but the methadone. i have managed to build a life for my self. I am not happy but i am alive. I want off the methadone i am scraed very , please what is the best way to detox .I want to live. I am not woried about relaspe cause i am not but i need help with the methadone detox please help. tobbs ps i was addict to every thing inthe book herion perscot my drug of choise. ha ha still can not spell
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I have been taking methadone for over a year. I was buying off of the street for about 7-8 months until I felt like I was pretty addicted (definitely psychologically). I was spending way too much money and withdrawing half of the time, so I went to the clinic. I have been going to the clinic for about 5 1/2 months and desperately want to get off of methadone. I was taken to 110mg and have been coming down 1mg a day for the past 35 days. Now I'm at 75mg. I can definitely feel the difference, but am not yet withdrawing. I was addicted to opiates (heroin, oxycontin, etc.) and was able to kick that. I really feel for the first time since I started to use opiates, that I am mentally ready to stop. I am just wondering how bad this is going to be and if anyone had any helpful advice to detox from methadone. I am going to continue to go down 1mg a day until I get to 30mg and then I am going to switch to Suboxone (Buprenorphine). All the while I will be exercising. I haven't been taking methadone for too terribly long and hope that I will be OK. Please, any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ryan
Helpful - 0