Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Tin Lizzie2

Hi.  Can I ask you what led you to have two fusions?  I recently had a laminectomy (in January 07) at L5/S1 and I am still on 4 Norcos a day (prescribed)for the horrendous leg pains I still have in both legs.  My surgeon wants me to start wrapping my mind around getting a fusion. He says that will stop the leg pains.  I have read way too many stories about people who have had fusions who wished they never did it and are in worse pain than before they the fusion.

I sure would love to hear your story when you have time.

DAK
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
hey there, u asked bout my fusion, well I hurt my back 13 yrs ago when I was 21, it went misdiagnosed for 8 years I worked anyway but as still on pain meds, although work didnt know that. (I was a nurse) By 2002 I went to see a consultant in England (I'm in N. Ireland) and he said I definately needed a fusion of L5 S1. The pain was unbearable so I was quite happy to go ahead with it..anything was better than the pain I ws in.. right?? WRONG!! I had the surgery, was held together with Titanium bolts and screws and after 2 wks  hospital (which is a hell of alot longer than your supposed to be there) I flew home. My x-rays etc were sent to him &after a yr he said I was "Fused"