Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Anything just to feel normal

I'm an addict.  I've known this for years.  They say that's the hardest part, just admitting it.  So not true.  I can easily admit it.  Now what?

I'll basically take any drug that alters my consciousness.  Usually I just take a lot of pain pills.  A lot.  And I take so many that I need them just to feel normal; they don't even get me high anymore.  (Damn.)

And I guess I'm just tired of needing pills, all of the time.  It's all I think about, when to take the next one.

And I'm a professional woman (college professor, athlete, wife).  I'm not a druggie who just sits around the house.  I do stuff.

Anybody out there who is like me?
6 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I think you have forgot what normal is. you said in your post you have known you were an addict for "years" well let me tell you you can forget what normal feels like after years. When I started I was a young man of 29 I am now 38 let me tell you pills will mask the feeling of getting old. I feel normal right now for a 38 year old, but not like I did as a Pill popping 36 year old, But in some ways I feel alot better. it took atleast 30 days clean before I felt like my oldself the entire day but before you know it, it will all come back to you. I considered myself a professional also (owned my own business) I did things, Hell I was the life of the party, Everybody thought I was the king of the world, and had everything, THank God I woke up in time. Thank God for Google search "addiction forum"  
Helpful - 0
Welcome to our forum....and yes there are many here like you.... what exactly are you taking??? do plan on stopping??? i know how you feel needing the pain pills to feel "normal" when i was at my worst i was taking around 30 hydrocodone 10mgs a day. I had to keep them next to my bed and take 2-3 20 mins before i could even get up.