Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

withdrawal from pain pills

My husband is going through withdrawals from perceset and vicodin. He is having diarriah, night sweats, can't sleep, feels like ****.

He is going to rehab this week. But, I am wondering how long do the withdrawels last. This is day 4 for him not having any in his system. He was taking 20-30 vicodin a day for about 2 months.

Thank you

3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I am no expert but If it was only 2 months he should start feeling better after today but not totally himself for up to two more weeks. Rehab is Good if you guys can afford it. The first time I abused was only 2 months (a long long time ago and I was WD for 7 days but was feeling better after 4-5). Be very thankfull you cought it this early.
Helpful - 0
52704 tn?1387020797
If he's going to an in-patient, medical facility, you should check to see if he needs to be clean when he gets there.  Most such facilities don't expect that and w/d is a lot easier to take on the inside with medical assistance than it is at home.  

That being said, if he was on 20-30/day, it's unlikely that he's going to be done with w/d by the time he gets there anyway if he's going this week.  It generally takes over a week before folks on higher doses begin to feel human again.

If it were my loved one, I'd keep them on just enough hydro to let them feel human until I turned them over to the pros.  There's no need for a big binge before going off to rehab (although many addicts (me included) try that, so don't let him be in charge of the pills), but there's little good in going through hell when you're just about to hit safe waters.