Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

OXY addiction - PLEASE HELP!

I have been addicted to oxycodone for about 2 years. Over the last 2 months I have weened myself down from 75mg delivered IV to one 7.5mg hydrocodone pill per day. I am having a relative easy transition to this level. My question, to anyone that knows, will I feel the full blown effects of the oxy addiction after I take my last hydro pill?
6 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
177036 tn?1192286635
How long have you been taking just, "one?"
Helpful - 0
I'm no expert, but I don't see how you can avoid the withdrawal symptoms. I've only been on hydrocodone for 2 months and I experience w/d by the third dose if I stretch the time between doses for an extra hour! And, I only take 3 pills a day! It's taken me 3 weeks just to stretch it from 6 to 7 hrs. It usually starts with nausea, headache, then severe abdominal pain. Soon, you won't be able to leave the bathroom.

The last time I tried to get off hydrocodone, I went cold turkey and was incredibly sick for 2 full days, then just really sick for 3 more. After the 5th day, I started improving. Unfortunately, a few weeks later, I had more surgery and more pills! Now I'm back where I started.

You should talk to your doctor before going c/t. From what I have read here and at other sites about the drug, c/t can cause permanent damage to your central nervous system.

Helpful - 0
177036 tn?1192286635
For me I did it the easier softer way in a detox that believed in that.  Please read some of my comments fron 5/22 to present.
Helpful - 0