Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Paxil Withdrawl

Help. I have been weaning myself off Paxil for several months now and have gone from 60mg to 2mg. I tried cold turkey at 10 mg but had the worst withdrawl imaginable so I went to the gradual route with liquid Paxil. I've had symptoms this way also but they've been manageable. My question is this - now that I'm down to a very small dose I've noticed an INTENSE depression begin. I'm emotional, often self abusive and lacking impulse control, angry and hopeless. I have a 15 month old daughter whom I care for and am able to (dispite this) and I love her to pieces. But I feel suicidal and emotional so much I feel like she'd be better off without me. Sometimes I want to drop her off with my parents and drive into a wall or something. Please tell me this is from the Paxil and that it will go away soon. I'm afriad this is the real "me" coming back although I don't think I was like this before - it's been 8 years on Paxil.(??) I currently do not have a psychologist as I was in a college-based training service and they felt I was well enough to discontinue (against my choice BTW).That's how I got on the Paxil in the first place. They told me to get my drugs from my gyno who knew nothing about Paxil or Paxil withdrawl. I chose to go off the Paxil bc I gained 80 lbs and my gyno worried I'd get pregnant again and it's now unsafe for pregnant mothers. I just need some reassurance that I'm not going crazy and it's an unbalance that causing all this. I'm scared. My husband is scared. Please help. Thank you.
6 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest