Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Seperation Anxiety

dar
My daughter is 7 years  old very close to turning 8. She has always been a bit of a worrier, sometimes needing reassurance, but in the past month or so she is showing signs of seperation anxiety when going to school in the morning. It usually manifests itself with belly pain and tears. When we ask her what is making her upset she admits to be frightened that something is going to happen to myself or her Dad when we are at work. There have been no changes in our lives, no recent losses or injuries,and no changes in her school routine. Her teacher says that she is doing well in class and has not noticed any changes in her behavior. I am a nurse and have been working days  since Sept. prior to that I always worked evenings or nights. I am unsure if there is a link between the two. We are desperately looking for some answers or help. Thanks
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I happened unpon this site in sheer frustration. My daughter who oddly enough is also 8 years old has been going through this off and on since kindergarten. She literally gets physically sick every day, but teh teach said that she is fine once she hets into the class. I have had to readjust my schedule at work to take her to school every other the day. That seems to be working.

However this disorder seems to have manifested itself and we are seeing other signs of anxiety with her. We literally cannot get her to a dentist, or should I say we make the trip there and end up leaving shortly after, she usually ends up getting sick at the denist.

She has a clogged duct in her left eye that needs medical treatment but we literally cannot get her to coorperate, again she get's physically sick instantly.

She will not stay with anyone anymore outside of my husband or myself and in the event she is coaxed into it, she worries the entire time and questions when I will be back.