A
A
A
Close

lantus peaks and lows

GSB
I am 41 years old and have been diabetic since I was 10 years old
I am new to using Lantus and Humalog.
I am having the same problem as many others I was told to take lantus at night and have switch to taking it in the morning because of lows in the morning and have found that now my blood sugars run about 200 to 250 in the morning. I find that if I take my lantus about 7:00 in the morning and test my bs I can be at a normal level again prety quick using the 2 units of humalog to every 50 bs I need to drop, and my bs usualy stay pretty stable with this method. It's not perfect but it seems to work for me. I am not a doctor and I can not say this will work for everyone but if you can test a few time to see how much you bs drops with 2 units of humalog you can gage yourself pretty well this way and just take the humalog after you eat instead of before you eat and test after eating to tell where you need to be.
I hope this helps.
If anyone disagree please post your concern.

GSB
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Lantus has no "peeks" However, some folks do split their doses half in the am and half in the pm. The most important thing is to take it the same times every day. Any change in your meds you should consult with your doctor first.
Helpful - 0
GSB

I Have to agree that you should check with your doctor as the doseage maybe different and should not be used for you. as everyones insulin resistance will be different for the humalog injection.

BTW I use the glargine RDNA lantus.

?? you say that a 80% day and 20% night doseage should work
so if I use 20 units day I should use 4 units at night say 10:00 PM

24 total
24 x .2 = 4.8 round down for saftey so 4 to start at night
and
24 x .8 = 18.4 so 18 in the morning will work I'll give it a try as it can only help

THANKS AGAIN any comments please post again thanks all.

GSB
Helpful - 0