Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Wisdom teeth problems and diabetes

My daughter is 16 and is considered and "Brittle Diabetic" recently put back on the pump.  Still trying to work out all the kinks.  She has now started having a lot of pain with her wisdom teeth.  Her jaw is swollen and we are seeing a dentist tomorrow.  My question is this:  Can this cause her blood sugar to fall drastically?  She was fine when she went to bed and woke up in the early a.m. with bs so low that she destroyed my kitchen.  she don't remember anything.  I know everything has an effect on your bs's but can this have this much effect? Thanks!
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Don't take this personally or the wrong way. I was diagnosed when I was 9 and my mom (though I was not as brittle, or sick as your daughter) couldn't stop asking questions and was so afraid my life was going to be nothing. The questions were great (though I didn't think so at the time), and her fears never came true. I am now a teacher for a small school district and feel I am successful and have made it through many hurdles. I have to say though I dont have many answers to your questions, the advice I would give you is to ask anyone and everyone the same question twice. I do. I always need answers and opinions. Then, don't scare or instill a fear in your daughter of not being able to carry on a normal life. Not all things are permanant and since this is all fairly new to your family, kinks will eventually work themselves out. As a mother to another mother, and a diabetic who love her mom, just be patient and encouraging, and you yourself be encouraged, because there is a whole wealth of people on this forum and in the world who will stand behind you. Feel free to e-mail me if you ever need to vent. Good luck, and God Bless you and your family.
Helpful - 0