Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

pregnancy

I am having sugar in fasting 100 and 240 after two hours wof taking food and my age is 44. Is it advisble to give birth to a child? If it is OK, the child will be a normal child without any defect? Plese kindly advise me.

Thank you.
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I agree with SGG, if you can go for a second opinion I would.  The older you are- you do run the risks of problems, but a doctor that deals with high risks pregnacies, should be able to handle the situation and advise you properly.
Helpful - 0
Because I am not a doctor, I ask that you do check everything I write to you with your own doctor, for he or she knows your personal health conditions and I do not. As for your age, I suspect that the most important thing for you, healthwise, is to make sure that the diabetes has not begun to damage kidneys or eyes or heart in any way before deciding to get pregnant. Your doctor should be doing tests annually on you to make sure that your kidneys are functioning well, etc. If you have some damage to any major organs, it would seem to make sense to be much more hesitant about pregnancy than if you are healthy. The general rule here in the United States is for the diabetic woman to make sure her glucose levels are under very tight control AND that her overall health has not been compromised in any way before conceiving. If she is healthy, then a pregnancy is not thought to be any more dangerous for her (or her baby) than for other women.