Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Shingles and the Diabetic

My dad is a diabetic and has the shingles.  His sores have started to weep.  What can I do to convince him that he has to see a doctor.  He does not want to go.
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
i am a agent orange vet diabete come down with shingles do i have a service connected disabilty claim
Helpful - 0
After reading your note last evening i read up on Shingles and please do everything you can to get your father to see a doctor about this problem. It is a disorder cause by the chicken-pox virus and can in some cases prove fatal. But mostly it is the painful open sores you describe. And since diabetics have such a poor response to infection should be reason enough alone. i know because after a car accident while getting my leg operated on for the third time it got infected and because hospitals use so much antibacterial cleansers only the truly serious one survive and it was either lose the leg or it was going to turn systemic and kill me, not much of a choice. i understand how many people don't relish going to the doctor but as diabetics they should try to get over that, either on their own or through talk therapy. The thing to remember is that no matter how bad your case seems the doctor has probably seen worse. i'm hoping all goes well for your father. This advice is not from a doctor but a fellow diabetic, who knows diabetes is not to be messed with because it will come back to haunt you. peace, bret
Helpful - 0