Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Crystalens vs. Restor Lens IOL implants

Hi All:
I am an optometric intern currently finishing my external rotations and I have been observing several cataract extractions using current techniques.  One of my parents is goig to need cataract surgery sometime in the near future and I was wondering which of the two multifocal implants has been met with the greatest patient satisfaction.  I have personally seen the Restor lens implanted but have not yet seen the results from these patients at followup.  I have not seen the Crystalens implanted not have I heard any patient testimonials.  I was wondering if anybody has personally seen and/or managed both of these types of implants.  Thanks.
EyeDoc007
45 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Thanks for the reply Eagle Eyes.
As for my lifestyle.....

1) I like playing outdoor games like cricket where you have a red cherry hurtled at you at 50 to 60 mph and you have to focus on it fast (pretty much like baseball) to hit it correctly. I also like swimming, table tennis, badminton, walking, etc.

2) I drive about 45 to 60 minutes in the night everyday back from work. It involes a lot of city driving so the oncoming lights might pose a problem to me (halos) in case of diffractive multifocals. I also prefer to drive on the highways during the weekends and while on vacation

3) As I mentioned, I work with computers 7 to 8 hours a day

4) I also need good and clear distance vision as I need to attend seminars/presentation and sometimes need to deliver one of these myself. Hence, you need clear vision to make good eye contact with you audience.

As far as use of contacts post surgery is concerned, I don't mind dealing with (multifocal) contact lenses during the day (for outdoor activities) as I have been doing that for the past 16 years. I also don't mind wearing progressive multifocal glasses during the evenings as I also do that right now after removing my contacts.