Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Shoulder injury for 5 years now, help!

I started lifting at a young age. Around 16 or so. Anyways my first sign of a shoulder problem was when I was almost 18. I was at home lifting on my new machine I bought, it had a lat tower with the pull down bar. I was doing those, and I got just a small pain, I stopped and waited a few minutes, I tried another but the pain was there. I didnt want to risk an injury. So I took some time of, when I began lifting again a month later, my shoulder was fine. I went to the gym this day, I am unsure of what the exercise is called, but its the one that works your tricep. I was doing this and I went and lowered my body, then felt some strange pain. I stopped right away and left. after a few days I would wake up and my (left) shoulder would feel fine except when I moved it I would get this sharp pain, and then on the 6-7 day it would hit like a ton of bricks where I cant even MOVE my arm at all, on serveral occasions this has happened. The movement that hurts is when I move my shoulder out to my side. Other than that I can move it forward and up, and back. Well I took 9 months off from lifting, and still had the same pain. I can lift just fine as far as benching, curling, and doing most tricep work outs, and I could do light training on my shoulder. Well now I am 21 and I still have this pain, and it has not gone away! I have read up some, and it suggests it could be Bursa, which is a sac of fluid under the high part of the shoulder. Also a rotator cuff could be torn or sprained. Help!
8 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Yes you can get stiffness. After what you said I would go see an orthopedic dr that does shoulders. Keep us updated. If it has been going on this long and not getting better each day even with the anti's I say DR time!!

Good luck
Helpful - 0