Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Drug eluding stents

My drug eluding stent occluded after <3 years-on plavix for 8 mths after stent along with asa,con't asa 325-lesion in the LAD-my sx have been vague for the last 6 months with mostly gi-when they cathed me my stent was 90% occluded above it and within the stent and below it-a new stent was placed thru the old one for most of the LAD-my concern now is if this stent occludes especially acutely I would loose most of my left ventricle if I survived-I am very compliant,take my meds religiously,exercise,eat well,my only change would be to change jobs to reduce stress,I am an ER nurse, which I am working on. With all the new info out about stents, would I be safer to consider bypass surgery as an option ? My septal branch is also severely stenosised with minimal flow ? I am not nuts about surgery, but I also don"t want to die.
thanks
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Hi,

Sorry you are having a rough time.  Drug eluting stents are going to be a long term issue for alot of people--I understand how you feel, I have 1 in my RCA.  Plavix & Aspirin are very, very important.  What does your cardiologist have you on for lipid control?  Controlling lipids is vitally important--some statins are better than others, depending on the individual.

Now the ACC is coming out with new recomendations regarding stent placements and medical therapy....they're recognizing the long term issue of stents.

I'd talk to your cardiologist or get to a larger center to have an evaluation.  The LAD is a troubling vessel indeed and I think you are doing the right thing and asking questions.

Bypass may offer more long term benefits, but some grafts don't last forever and are subject to occlusion well.  My grandmother had 20 years on one set but was very conscious of taking her statins and other meds, + diet.

If there are enough occlusions and they are diffuse, I'd heavily look at bypass.  Just my opinion though.

Good luck!
Helpful - 0