Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Shared psychotic Disorder

Back in Sept. of 1999 I posted a question trying to find out the name of whatever disorder my ex-wife and her mother may have.
HFHS Md-SW suggested that the problem may be a rare disorder called shared psychotic disorder.
Even though I am no Doctor, I lived with this enough to know (and it was the major contributor to our divorce 6 months ago]that this diagnosis is 99% correct from my perspective.
My ex wife lives on the same property [next door], as her dominating mother [Who is a recently retired mental health counselor] who I have no doubt is psychotic {grandiose delusions},as she has set me up on several ocasions, is very clever and devious, extremely controling, and very manipulative. I once saw her through a temper tantrom that was bizare. Both myself {as the son in law] and my ex's brothers wife do not speak to this woman. Her brother is lucky he doesnt live in the same area or their marriage could have ended also. With the birth of my 1st child her mother interfered by coming to the hospital and basically taking over as my wifes couch [which I trained for at La maz]. As my wife was in labor I could do nothing because I did not want to upset my wife. Any Mental Health counselor knows you never interfere with a husband and wife like that. What hurt me the most was the fact that my wife cared nothing about feelings about this when we discussed this afterward. Her mother twisted this around to try and make it look like it was of all things my fault.
I remember when we first got married and we bought her mothers house I would not agree with the sale price initially but we ended up compromising, well she told my wife {passed on to me}