Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Effexor problems

I'm on 112.5 mg per day of Effexor XR, having started at a lower dose about a month and a half ago.  Especially in the last two weeks, I've had fragmented sleep and bad dreams, and these side effects overshadow the slight improvement in mood.  An Internet search for 'effexor withdrawal' has caused me a great deal of concern.  I spent some hours reading hundreds of postings on various online forums of withdrawal horror stories, even when the dosage is gradually reduced.  I am appalled that my psychiatrist never mentioned that there may be any withdrawal symptoms at all, a position completely unwarranted than what I found.  Looking through the journals (I am a student so I have access through the university's system), I've found that a number of papers also mention cases of severe problems in withdrawal.  It turns out that some law firms are even considering class action against the manufacturer.  In an email conversation, someone told me that that they are hooked for life, unable to completely stop without debilitating psychological *and* physical problems.

What have I gotten myself into?  I am very angry at my psychiatrist for not warning me, and at myself for starting a medication before researching it.  Should I now start decreasing the dosage and stopping now, before it's too late?  Incredibly, the psychiatrist told me that he has not even diagnosed me yet, and that maybe depression is not my problem, but he is just testing to see whether this medication helps me!
9 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest