Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Muscle fatigue/weakness and sporatic tingling in arms

In mid-February I began with cold/flu-like symptoms that continued for several weeks, until I was finally given the 'probable' diagnosis of Mononucleosis.  Bloodwork showed an increased level of a certain antibodies (4.24), but all other bloodwork appeared normal.  My main symptom was extreme fatigue, to the point that I was basically bedridden for the entire month that followed.  My muscles and body just felt completely exhausted.  

After a total of about a month and a half, I was able to return to work, slowly building up my strength and energy again (I am a very active massage therapist in a busy resort/hotel).  I was working out and getting myself physically back into shape, feeling energetic and great again, up until a week and a half ago.

That morning, at work, during one of my massages, I started feeling my arms going tingling/numb, and I started getting incredibly weak again.  I feared immediately that I was relapsing into the 'mono' again.  Since then, I have not been able to return to work, the muscle fatigue/exhaustion just leaving me very weak and not able to do very much at all.  For the last two days, I have had increased tingling/numbness in my arms and hands as well, but today I have experienced none of that.  I DO feel with my weakness that my body is mostly in a slight shaky state, kind of like the jitters you get from too much caffeine (I am not a caffeine drinker, aside from a few glasses of tea each day).  

Basically, I cannot function or live with what I am currently experiencing.  We are thinking this is something neurological, as bloodwork is not showing anything.  I am just confused why some of the symptoms come and go, especially for the 6-8 weeks I was back to full energy, and now, why the numbness/tingling is not every day.  

Any ideas of what could be going on?!
Thank you so very much!!!
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest