Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

10 cm complex cyst and scared

i was diagnosed 2 days ago with a 10 cm complex cyst after one episode of cramping. I'm fortunate enough to work in a cancer center with access to an ultrasound tech who insisted having a look. It probably saved my life. The cyst has a 3x3x3 cm solid component and is septated. I'm 42 and terrified waiting for the results of CA125 test which won't be back until Monday. I'm having a CT scan this afternoon to look for fluid and lymph node enhancements. I'm just so scared. I saw my family doctor late Tusday night, she paged the OB/GYN on call stat, they ordered another U/S yesterday morning. The radiologist came in during the scan and looked around everywhere else and said a good sign is that he saw no ascites anywhere outside of the immediate area around the mass. I saw the OB/Gyn this morning and apparently everything hinges on the results of the CA125 and the CT scan. I want it all out and I want it all out now. I'm a radiation therapist and I'm much more afraid of cancer than I am of losing my uterus and ovaries. I just want to know if it's cancer. In addition, they've told me if this thing ruptures I could possibly bleed to death within minutes. I can't get into surgury soon enough! But they won't do surgery until they feel confident that it's probably not cancer because they don't want to spread it everywhere if it is.also, I have always been pretty slim, but over the last year have gained 10lbs right in my gut. I work out alot and diet, but this 10lbponch won't go away. Is there any chance it could be related to the 10cm mass even if it were benign?
2 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest