Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

can anyone relate or give ideas?

hi i am new to this. iam not much of a computer person but i am seeking any info possible.i am 32 and was diag. with granulosa cell tumor ovar. cancer in 2003, hads surgery and lost ovary but was fortunate no chemo. about four months ago my onocol. found cyst since then have had three ultrasounds and i went from one cyst to five and now , i had third ultrasound yesterday and since being on b. c. pills have only one visible but have blood in pelvis.  wondering if the cancer is back ? first time had softball size tumor burst being cancer. i have appt. with my onocol. tommorow. probably looking at another surgery. inhibin level and ca125. are good.
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I specifically asked my gyno-onc how the frozen sections compared to the final pathology reports (for fear of errors).  She said she's see the pathology report differ from the frozen section in both directions, and so the frozen section isn't absolute.  There's prework and procedures used with the pathology tests that can't be done at the time of the frozen section.  She also said that she's found the frozen section reading is usually conservative (in favor of benign and borderline instead of straight malignant).  I assume because they don't want doctor's taking out stuff for cancer and then going, ops, we didn't need to.  She said for women who want to keep stuff she recommends minimual removal the first time, and to go back in only if need be.
Helpful - 0