Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Nasty Case of the Flu

I'm pretty new here so just to recap my history briefly, I was dx'd with IIIc ovc last summer and finished taxol/carbo in Nov after a major debulking surgery.  I was very sick during the entire tx period but am slowly getting back on my feet.  Sunday night I came down with a bad case of the flu; nausea, vomiting, body aches, the whole nine yards. Still feeling pretty rough but at least I'm able to keep down fluids.  Has anyone experienced being more susceptible to viruses and do they hit harder than before you got sick?  It makes me a little nervous because I know that the immune system plays a role in keeping one in remission.  Feel like mine is shot since I got so sick from this bug.
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
117289 tn?1391712825
I work in a school in Southern Maryland and we have a really nasty tummy bug going around.
~Tascha
Helpful - 0
I live in the Omaha area and I had heard there was something going around about a month ago.  Anyway, I'm feeling better this morning, still weak but at least feel like I'm getting back to normal.  Thanks to all of you for your good wishes!

Christa
Helpful - 0
I don't know what area of the country you live in, but I work in an elementary school near Dayton, Ohio and there is a nasty stomach virus going around.  I know of very few people who have been able to escape it.  Even the healthiest of the staff and students were down with it.  Symptoms only last 24 to 48 hours, but you feel like you were hit by a truck for about 3 to 4 days after.  I would keep a close eye on your fluids..you don't want to get dehydrated.  Good luck, get plenty of rest!!!!
Helpful - 0