Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

OVCA recurrence after 4 years!

I am new to this, so I hope I can explain things clearly.  I was diagnosed with stage 1C OVCA in June 2002.  I had total hysterectomy, followed successfully by 6 rounds, taxol/carboplatin. Since then all CT scans were normal, CA 125 in single digits varying from 4.3 to 9 until recently when CA125 went to 27.  It was "trending up", so my surgoen (gyn/onc), who is on topof things and I absolutely adore, ordered a CT Scan which showed 3 implants - spleen, omentum and one near colon area. Needle biopsy showed smallest was 1 cm., then 2.5, then 3 cm.  Had total debulking and removal of all three implants without any problems on May 30, and was told I was in clinical remission. Surgeons said it was a completely "clean" surgery; all pathology was negative. Becasue I was so far out into remission when recurrence happened,they sent tumors out and found them to be sensitive to same chemo drugs as before, so I  am about to take my 3rd of 6 rounds of taxol/carbo.  CA 125 was 15 after first treatment from 174 after surgery. My oncologist suggested a one year maintenance "investment" of taxol. Has anyone had a lengthy remission like that, then recurred and was successfully treated back into remission?  Also,is there any merit to the maintenance regime?  My team of doctors say they can put this in a "cureative" state.  Is this realistic?  I feel blessed to have such a good second chance, and am keeping a positive attitude.  Can anyone give me insight into this? Thank you, and God Bless!

13 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Thank you for the information.  I plan to discuss this with my onc.  Presently taking 6 rds. taxol/carbo. as recurrence was localized, no other findings; and doctor may consider years' maintenance program for me after this cycle.
Helpful - 0
Gemzar: FDA approves drug for ovarian cancer treatment