Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Variety of symptoms, is it MS?

For approximately 9 months I've had symptoms that come and go. It started with abnormal sensations on my legs, tingling and numbness. I had 2 MRI of the spine and brain which showed 2 lesions, one in the front left side of my head, the other one in the back of my head. The other tests (evoked potential, lumbar puncture, EEG) are normal. Other symptoms include weakness in one arm (comes and goes) and painful sensation on the side of my face. I also have several areas on my back along the spine and side of the face that feel completely numb. That has not changed. On two different occasions after being overheated I've experienced extreme tiredness and I
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
i have been having similar symptoms for 13 yrs, every test done under the moon, possibly endometriosis.  For me that is.
Helpful - 0
Hi Laenana, I'm no doctor, but given your negative test results (other than MRI) has your neuro talked about the possibility that it could be complicated migraine? Sounds too simple I know, and you're probably thinking 'but I didn't have a headache as such', but this, although its pretty horrid in itself, is not as bad as MS and can be treated. Complicated migraine can occur without the headache - where you get the aura phase for an extended period and so it causes stroke-like symptoms. I had a similar experience to you, with many other MS symptoms, it lasted for 3 months and I have some lasting deficits as a result. Migraines can cause lesions on MRI. My MRI was clear which was a real suprise to my neuro given the symptoms and he says there are only three other possibilities that fit: Major stress (not in my case, although plenty since) Hyperventilation syndrome (overbreathing - again, not in my case - I under breath if anything) and complicated migraine. He wants to wait and see if I have another major attack (didn't get to see him until I had greatly improved) before giving a definate diagnosis