Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Thyroid and feeling you heart beat

I have multiple nodules on my thyroid. My dr. treated me with tapazole for about 18 months and now all  my thyroid results are  within normal range done about 2 days ago.(I work in a lab) My TSH is normal but within the very low range(0.54). I have been taking 25millgrams of atenolol since this started about 3 years ago. Lately I can feel my heart beating all the time especially when everything is quiet and I am trying to go to sleep. My pulse is within normal range about 61 but I still feel my heart beating. Is there any thing I can do to not feel it? I have also taken 50 mill of atenolol and that seems to help a bit but not really. Is there  some other medication that might help with that? I do need to go see my dr but I just haven't had time.Please reply
9 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Hi All,

I was just following this thread am and so happy to see I am not the only one.  I was diagnosed hypothyroid about 3 months ago (classic Hashimoto).  Since I have gone on the Generic Synthroid, I have had periodic episodes where I can feel my heart pounding, even though my pulse is normal.  It is reassuring it see I am not the only one.  
Helpful - 1
jd2
I started taking synthroid about 9 months ago, and my mum has been on it for years. For the heart thumping, it could be because the dosage of medication is a tiny bit high. My mum finds that adjusting the dosage by only a little (eg. taking 12.5mg off over one week - or as much as needed before you go low - it's kind of trial and error) can make a big difference. we also monitor our heart rates using a stethescope to listen for palpitations.
Helpful - 0