ADD / ADHD Community
Possibly ADD
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Anxiety, and Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Possibly ADD

Hello everyone,

I am am currently undergoing diagnostic testing and I am wondering if I should ask if the psychiatrist should also check for ADD, or ADHD even. I'll tell you a why in a bit. At the moment I have done some tests that suggest that I have Asperger's, but the clinical psychologist advised that I should consult a psychiatrist for further evaluation. Not only for Asperger's (because the psychologist was pretty sure on that one), but also because it was suspected that I may have a learning disability. I am not sure if ADD is classified a learning disability, but I really want to do some tests for it because of what follow below:

At the moment I'm in my last year of Applied Linguistics, which revolves around translation. My professors noticed something peculiar that I of course already was aware of: my translations are full of typos if I don't turn spell/grammar checker on. I know all spelling and grammar rules that I need to know, I am just not aware that I am misspelling or leaving out things. Even when I re-read my translation aftrwards, I usually do this 3-4 times, I don't notice that misspelled words until someone points them out for me.

The type of "mistake"s that I make and don't notice despite knowing the spelling/grammar rules are:
-Leaving out letters
-Switching letters in a word
-Leaving out a word
-Typing the same word twice
-Typing the wrong word because I'm already thinking ahead (of what follows)
-I sometimes type an "s" to make words plural even though I didn't intend to make the word plural

As someone who is supposed to translate, not noticing this kind of typos is absolutely not acceptable.

Other reasons why I think I might have ADD are the following: