Addiction: Alcohol/Drug Rehab Community
Please help me
About This Community:

Drug or alcohol addiction can be a difficult thing to recover from as your body becomes physically dependant on these substances. Discuss topics including alcohol/drug rehab centers or programs, share rehab stories and offer support, and long term recovery post-rehab.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Please help me

I am a Soldier in the United States Army. I was injured in Afghanistan in a IED explosion that has left me is back pain issues. I have been prescribed oxycodone on and off for about 7 months.

I started by taking it as I should orally but snorting and abuse came soon. I need help. I don't know what to do. I can easily go back and have another script wrote but I want off this drug. I am addicted.

I took my last pill today. I have been trying to take small doses over the past three days. Tonight I went to bed and can not sleep. I have a urge to cross my arms in front of myself and clench them so tight. It it the strangest thing. I'm restless. I can't sleep. I am a good soldier, and a husband and a father. It will damage my career if my unit found out. I am scared.

What can I do to help get me through the withdrawals?
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Stay with it, or use something less antagonstic toward your mind than oxycodone - it is really, really poison or you will be left with more than just back pain. This stuff really can and will ruin your personality, leaving you a bitter, restless and overstimulated person. I have seen it first hand - within moments of use I see my SO become irritable and just plain mean. I hate the stuff. Until a few years ago, it was only prescribed for people who were at the end stages of their painful life. Now it seems as though it is prescribed pretty regularly and doctors only ever ask 'does this work for your pain' and you continue getting the prescription.