Addiction: Alcohol/Drug Rehab Community
Prolonged opiate withdrawal. PLEASE HELP!
About This Community:

Drug or alcohol addiction can be a difficult thing to recover from as your body becomes physically dependant on these substances. Discuss topics including alcohol/drug rehab centers or programs, share rehab stories and offer support, and long term recovery post-rehab.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Prolonged opiate withdrawal. PLEASE HELP!

Hi there,

I have been on ONLY 20mg of norco for the past three years, for a shoulder injury.  I never took anymore than this in a day (usually 20mg at night), and decided to quit cold turkey.  I am a personal trainer and just did not want to be a slave to opiates.  I had the normal withdrawal symptoms (nausea, lightheadedness, heart racing, flu-like symptoms, etc.)  

Now this is where it get strange.  About two or three weeks later I started to get these symptoms:

horrible legs cramps in my hamstrings, and in my hip and butt,
muscle twitches in my thumb, calves, triceps, and eye twtich
tingling in my legs, and sometimes in my arms
random bouts of nausea.
bouts of fatigue flu-like feeling  
This has now been going off and on for about 2 and a half months now, and I am terrified.   Is this PAWS, or prolonged withdrawal?  The symptoms change and go away for a bit only to reappear again.

I did go to see a neurologist, cardiologist, and rheumotologist.   They found nothing in the brain MRI, nothing in my blood work, etc.  I am freaking that they missed something or if this is just the beginning of some neurological disease that has not shown up on tests, like MS.  

Has anyone else had prolonged experience with prolonged opiate withdrawals?  Will this end?   Thank you all so much for reading this.  

8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hi there,