ADDICTION: SUBSTANCE ABUSE
COMMUNITY
TERRIFIED!!!! HOW DO I WEAN OFF 6 MG XANAX per day?????
by newone58, Dec 29, 2012
I am on 6 mg  of xanax per day in .5mg doses every two hours. my incompetent doctor approved this schedule to help me taper off duragesic/fentanyl patch. NOW I AM TERRIFIED as i have severe anxiety on the xanax taper meds, self neglect, cannot function- LIFE IS LIVING HELL!! Am confused all the time, and getting no support at home.
PLEASE PLEASE HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!    
Terrified of detox facility- as it may take quite a while to get off- but, terrified of seizures and withdrawal if i do this on my own.
ANY HELP PLEASE, DEAR GOD !!!!!
Member Comments (73)
by selfinduced, Dec 29, 2012
Oh new one, I am so sorry your dealing with this. I don't want to comment on that dose as I have no experience. I was dependent on ativan 1.5 mg a day and had to wean down. It is not fun and at your dose a Dr. on board is a must. Hold tight, more will be along to give you more helpful advise. Stay calm, you'll get thru this. Does your Dr. know your struggling?
480448_tn?1403547723
by nursegirl6572, Dec 29, 2012
I just commented on your other thread.  You need to find a new doctor.  I'm a bit confused...exactly HOW much Xanax are you taking, and for how long?  Is your taper supposed to be every 2 hours, or is that how often you dose yourself?

Like I said in your other thread, it is imperative that you taper off Xanax under the guidance and supervision of a doctor who knows his/her way around these meds.

Can you try to find a new doctor on Monday?  Do you have enough to maintain until then?  That would be my advice.  The best option would be a psychiatrist.  Also, do you have any other treatments in place for your anxiety?  Have you been in therapy at all?  That's another way the psych could help you.

Best of luck to you!
by newone58, Dec 30, 2012