Addiction Expert Forum
fiorinal withdrawal
About This Forum:

Questions in the Addiction forum are answered by a medical expert.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

fiorinal withdrawal

have recently realized that I have been suffering from medication induced headaches for some time now.  When my daughter was born over a year ago my migraines increased in frequency and severity.  The only way that I could find to deal with them was to take my blessed fiorinal #3.  I began taking it more frequently than I had before.  You've heard this story a million times I'm sure and as a nurse I know intellectually the implications of the medication.  I was also aware of the problem as it evolved.  But with the fiorinal I could keep going so I kept taking it.  and by the way, it gave me a false strength and sense of euphoria which never hurts either.  I started going through a prescription in no time flat, lately averaging 4 pills per day (2 at a time).  I finally got tired of feeling like an addict(although I guess thats what I am) and having to ask for more pills.  I convinced my doctor that I had developed a tolerance and a dependency to the medication.  I wasn't impressed with the way he dealt with it, but he's a new MD and he's new to me (we just relocated a couple of months ago).  He gave me a RX for fiorinal(without codeine) and instructed me to take 1 tab Q12H PRN.  I figured I could kick the codeine without weaning so I didn't call him back to change the order.  I'll admit, though, I also felt like I would be "begging" for more drugs if I were to call him back.  Anyways, he told me he didn't want to hear from me for a week for a refill(he gave me 14 pills).  I've done ok but I've taken the 2 allotted pills at once usually early in the day for the first 5 days.  Then I will wean to one pill.  I still have daily headaches.  The dos