Adoption Community
international adoption experts?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to adoption costs, foster children, adoption planning, Adoption Resources, adoption in foreign countries, birth parents, emotional issues, family issues, interracial adoption, legal issues, newborns, parenting, school issues, teens, toddlers, open adoption, and step parent adoption.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

international adoption experts?

Hello Everyone,
I'm new to this and old to TTC. After a couple of failed DE attempts I am strongly considering adoption. I am 43 (soon 44) and my DH is 57 (soon to be 58). Is there any hope for us? I don't think I can bare the idea of waiting for an indefinite period. Does anyone know about international adoption and which countries are better to work with? How do we get started? Thank you!
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
480448_tn?1403547723
Hi there!  

Have you started the process of contacting anyone about an adoption, either domestic or international, or is the first time you've really started inquiring?

Have you considered a domestic adoption?  Many people prefer an international closed adoption versus the open domestic adoptions that are more common in the US today, simply because not everyone can handle the idea of an open adoption.  I know I couldn't.  

I'll be honest, I give people a lot of credit who CAN, but it wouldn't be for me.  I couldn't handle the emotions of "competing" in a sense with a bio family.  There would just be too much for me to overcome emotionally.  That being said, a lot of people CAN handle that and embrace it.  Have you given that any thought?  How about the concept of seeking a surrogate?  A foster parenting program?  Have you looked into any other options beyond TTC?