Alcoholic, Living with an Community
Husband in denial
About This Community:

This patient support community is for loved ones of people who drink and are trying to quit for discussions relating to abuse, behavioral issues, caring for yourself, counseling, divorce and separation, enabling, guilt, and when to get medical help.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Husband in denial

I am going to Alanon tonight for the first time in hopes that I can clear my mind, that I am in fact not going crazy.

I have been enabling my husband for 4 years now.  It wasn't until the past year that I have come to terms that my depression is related to watching him numb himself every night with 2 bottles of wine or equivalent of beer, and not being strong enough to tell him to stop. Why? because when I do, he turns into a battle about every topic under the sun...then he takes off in the car and threatens to look for a place to live.

Last night I asked him why we have become so isolated from our friends and why our relationship is turning into roommates and not romantic partners, he shifts the blame on me. Telling me I haven't lost the baby fat after my pregnancy 2 years ago.  I am 115 pound 5'6 and my friends (the ones I still manage to keep) think if I get any skinnier I will be anorexic.

But I made a promise to him that if I run every day, I want him to stop drinking. He agreed for the most part minus weekends.  

He was doing OK the past few weeks, I would say a total of 5 days off and on without drinking. However, the other night he was vomiting perfusely for hours. I told him it might be withdrawals and he shrugged it off as if I was crazy.