Alcoholic, Living with an Community
In need of support and advice
About This Community:

This patient support community is for loved ones of people who drink and are trying to quit for discussions relating to abuse, behavioral issues, caring for yourself, counseling, divorce and separation, enabling, guilt, and when to get medical help.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

In need of support and advice

Hi everyone.  This is my first time posting and I feel so lost and feel like I have nobody that understands me.  I have been married for 12 years and have 2 children.  My husband is an alcoholic and has finally admitted that.  About 7 years ago he received his first OUI and last year he received his second.  I have stood by him through it all but am at the end of my rope now.  I am sick of making excuses for him, for covering up his behavior and of being scared of leaving the kids with him when I go to work at night.  He is the son of a drunk (and I say that because my father in law will never admit he has a problem) and has several siblings that have drinking problems as well.  The big problem that I have is that he comes from a culture where that is the norm.   None of his family think he has a problem, yet they all live 3000 miles away in another country and don't see what he is doing to us, plus half of them have their own problems.  My own family all moved out of state about 5 years ago which leaves me no support except one good friend who has her own issues to deal with.  Plus my own family just call him a drunk and tell me I should leave him and move up with them, which I can't because I can't move my kids out of state without his permission, it is considered kidnapping, plus I do love him.  My husband was court ordered into a 14 day intreatment program that all people who are found guilty of a second OUI must go to.  I was praying that it would do him some good.  He was released last Sunday and I thought I had a new husband.  While he