Alcoholic, Living with an Community
new to this
About This Community:

This patient support community is for loved ones of people who drink and are trying to quit for discussions relating to abuse, behavioral issues, caring for yourself, counseling, divorce and separation, enabling, guilt, and when to get medical help.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

new to this

Hey,

I am new to this as you have probabally noticed from the title. I just need a bit of advice on what to do. I am 21 and live at home with my mum. She is a single parent and an alcoholic and has been since I can remember. In recent years she has gotten worse. She was admitted to hospital after having very bad alcohol withdrawel three years ago. She had a seizure and was very ill, shaking, vomitting, paranoia etc. After a few days in hospital and numerous tests, luckily all that was diagnosed was anemia, so she was let out. Counselling was offered but she didnt go. For the next year she stayed off the drink. I thought she would be off it for life and everything was great. I started college the following year and had to move away. I still came home at weekends. This is when the drinking started again. Well she started having a few relapses. last summer I was away for three months in a different country and this is when the drinking got worse. She wouldnt answer the phone and any time she did she was drunk. It was very worrying for me because I didnt want her to become ill again. when I got home it was clear that she had been drinking alot from her appearance and from the food supply. I know that sounds weird, but when she is drinking, its the cheapest food and not very much bought. I didnt go back to college because of money reasons, so I have been at home for a year. She has been back on the drink since.she will stop for two weeks and then go on a binge for a week. The worst thing is, its back to the way it was before she had the seizure. She just lies in bed all day and nigh