Alcoholism Community
liver tenderness after stopping
About This Community:

This community is for questions and support for people with, or for loved ones of people who drink and are trying to quit. The forum covers topics ranging from Health Issues, How to Quit, Reasons to Quit, Relapse Prevention, Friend and Family Support.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

liver tenderness after stopping

I've been drinking heavily and most weeks daily for about 4 years (approx. 1 to 1.5 bottles of wine a night). Before that I was a moderate or occasional binge drinker with friends for about 6 years. I decided to stop for awhile to make sure that I could and to improve my health. That was 4 days ago. The past few days my upper right side (liver, I guess) has been tender. I've read other people's posts mentioning this, but what seems strange to me is that it didn't occur until a day or so AFTER I stopped drinking. Is this normal? It's scared me enough to realize that I certainly do need to continue not drinking, but I would like to know if this might mean I have liver disease or if maybe it's my liver trying to repair itself? I have been taking SAM-E for depression (and possible liver benefits) and milk thistle.
Related Discussions
4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank