Allergy Community
Ah, that new Mac smell!
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to airbourne allergies, eye allergies, shots, anaphylaxis, asthma, children's allergies, hives, insect stings, rhinitis, sinuses, and allergies to drugs, foods, and pets.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Ah, that new Mac smell!

After reading through all the posts listed here, it appears that there are several possibilities that may cause this condition.  
Through the process of elimination I determined that my phantom smell was both physiological and environmental.  Please read on…
First off, I am not a doctor or a healthcare professional.  My comments are solely based on my own observations and experiences.  There, my disclaimer is stated.
Recently, I had a sinus infection which cleared up on its own after a few weeks.  While I believe in pharmacology, I’m not a huge fan of using antibiotics every time I get the sniffles.  So I let nature run her course this time.  Anyway, I had all the classic symptoms of a sinus infection: pressure behind my eyes, popping ears, headaches, mucus discharge from my nose…blah, blah, blah- I had it all.
During the second or third week the discharge changed dramatically in appearance.  Initially it was clear and watery, now it was (pardon the descriptive terms) like custard crème from a donut.  The mucus was thick, yellow and constantly flowing despite persistent nose-blowing.  In fact, I was blowing my nose so much I started to develop a jaw ache.  Eventually my body fought off the infection and things returned to normal-well sort of.
That when I started experiencing the annoying smell of stale cigarettes.  
While I’m convinced my experience is physiological in nature, it stands to reason that my symptoms may be influenced by other factors.