Anxiety Community
Anxiety and hair loss
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to generalized anxiety, anxiety and eating, anxiety and sleeping, mood swings, panic attacks and panic disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Anxiety and hair loss

I've been losing my hair for about 6 years now slowly but its been painful and only in one spot on my head. It started small so small that I thought the reason my hair was laying weird was because I slept on my head wrong. Later I started noticing more than usual hair loss when brusing my hair or just getting a shower. About a year after it started I starting having burning pains in that part of my head. The pain would increase when I was under more stress. The hair loss has become noticable that I can't leave my hair down without pulling back my sides or wearing it in a pony tail to hide the spot. The burning sensation hasn't gone away either it comes and goes. Two years ago I started really taking the steps trying to find out what was going on. I went to dermatologists and my family doctor. The dermatologists told me I was crazy and that I wasn't losing my hair. My family doctor did notice the hair loss but couldn't explain the burning sensation. His solution was to use anti-depressants. I didn't really want to try them but I thought well what do I have to lose besides more hair. We tried a few different brands like Lexapro, Zoloft, Effexor, and Cymbalta. I was on the Cymbalta the longest. I suffered from side effects on all of them esp when I tried quitting the Cymbalta. I gained 30 pounds while on them and the hair lose didn't stop neither did the burning sensation. I want so desperately to find out whats going on, hair to a woman is a part of what makes her a woman and I would love to leave my hair down again, but I don't even know if it will ever stop or ever grow back if it does. My family doctor says it has to be anxiety and maybe it is but are