A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Folic Acid (methotrexate)

I am new to RA.  Just got my first prescription for methotrexate.  The doctor also gave me folic acid to take to help reduce the side effects of the methotrexate.   She said to take the methotrexate on an empty stomach and it would be better to take it at night.  That way if you get an upset stomach from it, hopefully you will sleep right through it.  

She never said how/when to take the folic acid.  Do you take it with the methotrexate?  Does it need to be taken at a different time than my other vitamins.  The folic acid script says to take it daily.  (of course the methotrexate is once a week).

I have looked it up, but haven't found a definative answer.  It also made me confused because under interaction it mentions methotrexate.

Thanks for the help,
K
Related Discussions
4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
469901_tn?1276567223
Folic acid should be taken daily while taking MTX.  My doc advised me to take 2/day and 6 on the day before, day of and day after taking MTX.  If you find you are suffering a lot of side effects from the MTX, you may want to ask your doctor for a prescription for Leukovoran.  It can only be taken exactly 24 hours after taking MTX and functions like an antidote.  
I was on the pill form at first but had to switch to injections because the side effects from the pills were worse than the injections.  Once I switched to injections and added the leukovoran, I was able to function better the day after taking the shots.  
With side effects in mind, I suggest you pick a day of the week when you will have a less demanding day the next day.  Also, avoid alcohol while taking this medication.  How often is your doctor setting up follow ups to track your liver function?  Did you get a flu and pneumonia shot?  Because MTX surpresses your immune system, it is important that you get those if you have not already.
Blank