Asperger's Syndrome Community
ASD as medical student
About This Community:

This forum is an un-mediated, patient-to-patient forum for questions and support regarding Asperger Syndrome issues such as: Balance, Behavioral Issues, Causes, Characteristics, Classification, Clumsiness, Communication, Diagnosis, Gait – Walking, Genetics, Medications. Parenting, Prognosis, Restricted and repetitive interests and behavior, School Issues, Screening Sleep Disorders, Social interaction, Speech and language, Treatment

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

ASD as medical student

I'm a medical student and am strongly suspecting I have Aspergers. I've done the AQ & EQ tests and my scores were appauling, (40/50 AQ and 16/80 EQ). I already have a diagnosis of ADHD, and my medical school was not happy about it at all, I almost had my course terminated. I'm terrified that they'll find out, my career is the one thing in my life I don't have a plan B or plan C for.

Does anyone know of any medical students or doctors with Aspergers?  
Related Discussions
10 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
470168_tn?1237474845
I don't know of any personally, but I know others have posted saying that they suspected certain doctors of being on the spectrum.
Although you say you think you have Aspergers, try to look into the strengths of it.  I don't see that it could mean you could not continue studying.  Do you think you are more Aspergers than ADHD?  
I don't see how they could 'find out' unless you tell them?  They can't force you to be assessed and they can't force a confession out of you!
You know what your strengths and weakness are.  You will have to be honest with yourself about what level you can take in medicine, but that might become clearer as you progress through the course.  For example if someone was suffereing badly with stress and anxiety (but aren't most junior doctors?), then they might take a less demanding position.