Asthma and Allergy Expert Forum
Metal spray
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding: Allergies, Asthma, Chronic Cough, Sinusitis, and other Respiratory Disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Metal spray

I work for a large construction corporation and in this company i work as a metal sprayer.I knew when i took this job there were going to be some health risks but nothing like this.On a daily i spray several pounds of nickel, aluminum, and iron compounds.Now i have been doing this for a year and a half now and i have produced several problems like weezing coughing and violent sneezing.I also get nose bleeds from time to time and i figured its from working here so please give me some feeback.
242588_tn?1224275300
It sounds like you have had a heavy exposure to nickel, aluminum and iron.  The first two, nickel and aluminum have definitely been implicated in the development and worsening of asthma and bronchitis.  What you describe strongly suggests that you have developed significant respiratory problems, while in contact with these materials.  And asthmatics have been found to have higher blood iron levels than comparable groups that do not have asthma.  The following information is from medical reports of the danger of these substances.

Nickel sulphate frequently causes allergic contact dermatitis; less known effects are nasal inflammation (rhinitis) and bronchial asthma

Complex clinical examination of aluminium production workers having broncho-pulmonary diseases revealed immunologic criteria of toxic dust bronchitis, diffuse pneumosclerosis and secondary infection-dependent bronchial asthma, caused by combination of occupational hazards.

It appears that your work exposures are seriously affecting your health, especially the health of your respiratory system.