Back & Neck Community
(Lumbo-Sacral strain)
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to back and neck problems, exercise, pain, sleeping, and physical therapy.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

(Lumbo-Sacral strain)

What causes a (Lumbo-Sacral strain)? Can it be caused by muscles or is it caused by a ruptured (herniated) disc.?
Related Discussions
902263_tn?1245218153
Hey there!
I've had a lot of soreness in my SI joint (sacral-illial area) and I've been seeing a massage therapist for this for quite some time. My workplace aggravates it like you wouldn't believe (I'm a nurse).

I found that massage really is the ONLY way I've had some relief of the discomfort I've had. The only other thing that helps (which I've been told by both my RMT and my chiropractor) is actually strengthening the body, which means:
- more abdominal strength (specifically lower abs)
- more lateral strength (forget the name, but the ones that let your body rotate and bend-- these are the most important!!!

The exercises I've been given are these (but please speak to a professional to know what is right for you before trying). If you do have herniation, your doctor may restrict some exercises that may aggrivate your problem. I would recommend seing a Chiropractor as they are the experts when it comes to back problems, and are able to isolate issues regarding muscles/bones. If you do not already have one, I would suggest a Chiropractor that also can do a technique called "ART" or Active Release Technique, which I like to describe as an intense massage in a problematic area. I have a very good Chiro doctor, and they are more likely to give you tools to improve and prevent a problem, whereas MD's are more likely to push medications, and possibly physiotherapy.

Exercises: