Birds Community
Help! I'm new at owning birds
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding your pet birds!

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Help! I'm new at owning birds

Hi  

I recently inherited 3 cockatiels from my uncle.  He told me that they were 2 females and 1 male.  How can I tell?

Also, he never hand feed them, and so it’s difficult to clean their cage.  As soon as I stick
My hand in the cage they attract!  Is there any way to “retrain” them?

Finally and egg hatched the baby is roughly 9 weeks old.  When do I start hand feeding it?  I would like for one of the birds to actually like me?

Last question.

They really don’t chirp. Are they depressed? What can I do to fix that?

Ok, last question for real.

Do I have to take them to the vet for check ups?
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
187666_tn?1331176945
I can't actually help you with this one since I deal with wild birds but perhaps you could find a bird fanciers club in your area. We have a few in our area and they seem to have a good network of pigeon fanciers, parrot lovers and so on.

As for the vet, find one that specializes in birds. Most likely you should take them in on a regular basis at least to keep their nails trimmed and perhaps their beaks coped if needed.  It would be a good place to get more information on how to care for them properly. Good luck and enjoy.
Blank
187666_tn?1331176945