Birds Community
My cockateil
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding your pet birds!

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

My cockateil

Hi, does anyone know how to make these birds happy? I inherited two of them (one has since passed away) I have tried to make friends with them,(now him) to no avail. The worst thing is the way he screeches almost all the time. Not happy chirping or singing. This is just SQWAUCK SQWAUCK Like a cry for help. If I go over and talk to him, he acts scared and hisses at me, altho I have been caring for him for over 5 years. Four years at his owners house, and more than a year at my house. My house is small, and the noise drives me nuts. Any advice here would be appreciated. Thanks.
Related Discussions
8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
184674_tn?1360864093
Your bird has been through a lot of upheaval in the last year of his life; he lives in a new home and now his mate is gone.
You may want to start by assessing the environment where his cage is. If he's an anti-social bird (not too into human interaction), do you have the cage located in a social area with lots of stimuli, such as visitors, television, computer, etc? Or vice versa if he does want more stimuli, and maybe you have him in a back room that he thinks is too quiet?
Birds are usually social creatures, hence birds in the wild being part of a flock. In some cases, "friends" are made in the flock, or a social heirarchy is established, and some birds mate for life. Cockatiels are flock birds from the Australian grasslands. He may be shrieking out and squawking to call out for his friend (the previous owner) and his mate who has now passed away. You may not be considered his "friend" yet. I'm not saying this is the case...just throwing that possibility out there for you to consider.