Borderline Personality Disorder Community
Best Friend with BPD
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to anger, anxiety, caregiver support, depression, emotions, fears, living with BPD, relationships, and violence.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Best Friend with BPD

Hello,

I am a graduate student in my mid-twenties who is at a loss of what to do regarding my best friend of 5 years with BPD. She is hilarious, gorgeous, smart, and fun but struggles constantly with relationships, employment, and most recently the law. She is intelligent and knows what the consequences of her behavior will be, but can't stop making the "wrong" choices, i.e. the ones that inevitably cause her more pain and suffering. She has a degree but is going back to school. She is living off her parents money, and has been without a job for year though she could easily obtain a part time job. Though that is perhaps none of my business it bothers me because I value hard work and would never take money from my parents unless I had no other option--to me it seems she is taking advantage of them.

Our friendship has had its ups and downs as you can probably imagine. She seems to warp situations in her mind when she is going through particularly difficult life circumstances so that everyone turns into "the enemy". During these times it's exhausting to be her friend--I want to be there for her to listen, but eventually it starts affecting my life negatively because she can be so demanding and combative, even though I'm on her side. She has really high expectations for how she should be treated by her friends, but has been rude and extremely inconsiderate to me in the past. Any time I've tried to explain to her calmly and respectfully that sometimes the way she treats me makes me feel bad she becomes extremely defensive and turns the situation around, becoming angry that I'm expressing these feelings.