Borderline Personality Disorder Community
Repairs with my daughter
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to anger, anxiety, caregiver support, depression, emotions, fears, living with BPD, relationships, and violence.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Repairs with my daughter

I was a severely abused child raised by two BPD parents. At sixteen I was made a ward of the court removed from my home to live in a halfway house.  I spent years in therapy and have done remarkably well according to myself and my therapists. I am now a somatic psychologist.

As I was warned I would do I married my father (figuratively) We had my daughter when I was 21 and split when I she was 2. I suspect my ex, her father was also BPD at the very least he had extreme anger issues. I had major suicidal issues with several attempts coming very close to succeeding a couple of times. My daughter lived through my crazy years. She went to live with her father at 12 and came back to live with me at 18 when her brother was born.  They are 18 years apart. I moved out of town when she was 12 to work and to work on myself. We remained close over the phone and extended visits over the holidays.   My daughter has had extreme anger issues since she was small. They have not improved as an adult. She is venomous when she gets angry and get into fights.  The main reason she lived with her father was because i couldn't control her. I knew it would be worse as she got older, and it was.  I got to be her confidant. She shares things she would never share with her father. I don't fight with my daughter. i remain fairly calm and supportive or remove myself from the situation as needed. I never treat her the way she treats me.