Borderline Personality Disorder Community
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to anger, anxiety, caregiver support, depression, emotions, fears, living with BPD, relationships, and violence.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Hi I'm a 42 year old BPD sufferer, just finished 2 years of therapy but still struggling from time to time. I wasn't diagnosed until 4 years ago, was anyone else diagnosed so late in life. I'm a newbie here so would like to make some friends :)
7 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hi there.  I'm having a big problem trying to leave a message to darren66634.  So far I've written three responsis and none have been posted, can anyone tell me why?  I'm 53 (female), live in the UK and was only officially diagnosed two years ago but have been suffering terribly for 30 years.  My Dr is really not happy about treating me saying that borderliners have a 'bad reputation' and don't respond to treatment.  However the Dr has passed me over to a Psych Dr who reluctantly decided to offer treatment by way of mood stablisers and in the future DBT.  There are no support groups where I live in S E London and apparently very few fellow sufferers.  Finding this site with a place especially for BPD is extremely comforting and supportive.  I'd like darren to consider becoming 'friends' here.  X
Blank
4261481_tn?1351877513
You are not alone!  Lots of borderlines are misdiagnosed and don't get an accurate diagnosis until late in life.  I was in my late 30's when I got "the label," though I'd known something was "different" about me since my early teens.  

Because many borderlines have comorbid conditions riding along with them, professionals sometimes only see the anxiety or depression, or substance abuse, eating disorder, OCD, narcissitic or antisocial tendencies, and miss the real issue that's underlying and causing the other problems.