Brain/Pituitary Tumors Community
Post Pituitary Surgery-How did you feel?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Brain Tumors and Pituitary Tumors.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Post Pituitary Surgery-How did you feel?

I am new to this, but here it goes...I am 32 years old and  I just had a pituitary tumor removed 3 weeks ago. I have been trying to find out how people felt after the surgery. I of course have headaches, and dizziness. But it actually feels like my head is clearer...before my surgery I couldnt seem to form a thought, I was so weak. I still have weakness but not as bad. My eyes used to hurt, and very hard to focus. I didnt have the best experience after the surgery, they didnt even give me discharge instructions. During my follow up with the O.R. nurse she finally told me that I cant sniff, blow my nose, try not to sneeze and dont hold my head down. She said for at least 2 to 3 months!! Is that for real???? I am on hydrocortisone 3 times a day, and before the surgery i was diagnosed with hypersomnia, because i couldnt seem to stay awake. I would wake up, and about 1 to 2 hours later I will fall asleep. I had to stop driving because i would fall asleep. I am more alert now, but how long will it take to start feeling normal again??? Will I ever feel normal again???
Related Discussions
143 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
657231_tn?1390151580
I find that a bit strange. My post op instructions were not to blow my nose, sneeze (keep your mouth open), use a straw, sleep flat (if you did not use packing, this is normal), bend over, or pick up anything heavier than 5 lbs for 3-4 weeks, not months.

If you were not given discharge instructions, you can call the surgeon's office immediately. If you cannot get them, then I would report the hospital and doctor to the state medical board.