Breastfeeding Community
cracked nipple
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, breast and nipple care, feeding techniques, inadequate milk supply, nutrition, proper baby positioning, and work and travel issues.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

cracked nipple

Hello ladies

I've been feeding my little one for 14 months now and my left nipple has had a crack in it for 4/5 weeks that I can't heal.  Doctor gave me cream for it, but not helping... the pain is awful.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Also when will my periods return?  I only breastfeed 3 times a day now, but still no sign!  I turned 40 this year and was wondering if maybe they will never come back.

All tips/help appreciated

Thanks
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
646779_tn?1281999641
Lanolin is marvellous for cracks. If you apply generously before a feed, you will begin to heal soon enough even though you are breastfeeding. I have a crack that is healing nicely thanks to my PureLan (Lanolin available online from Medela) Oh, and also I am down to 4 pumps a day and been expressing for 8.5 months now, and still no period - all normal during breastfeeding :) Enjoy it while it lasts!
Blank
570184_tn?1257547992
thanks so much Kate, I will try that... although lanolin is expensive £10 for a tube, but I'll have to get it my nipple is burning from the pain!
Blank
171768_tn?1324233699
You can try a saline soak (dissolve some table salt in a cup of warm water and dip your nipple in.) my LC said it helps some women with soothing and healing, and also prevents infection.

Another cheap/free option is to put some expressed milk on it after you feed and let it air dry. Works wonders and helped heal some sores on me.

Lanolin does help some, and others say it doesn't do much. Depends on the person. I found it helped with chapped nipples, but not necessarily with healing wounds.