Cardiac Rehabilitation Community
Will I be able to fly?
About This Community:

Cardiac Rehabilitation (Rehab) is a medically supervised program that helps improve heart function for people who have heart disease, have suffered a heart attack or have certain heart disorders.. Rehab programs include monitored exercise training, education on heart healthy living, and counseling to reduce stress and help you return to an active life. The purpose of the community is to share support and information with Cardiac Rehabilitation patients, their loved ones, and caregivers. Topics in the community include: tracking success, diet-nutrition tips; family issues, research, recovering from surgery.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Will I be able to fly?

I am a 47 year old male patient that sufferd an acute MI.  Stents x 2 placed in my LAD.  My EF was 20% at time of cath procedure.  I know EF doesn't measure "how you feel" but I am a pilot and the FAA requires an EF of >40%. I am in good shape, I almost scare the rehab nurses because I work so hard.  I have done all the life style modifications recommended.   Can I achieve this improvement with meds and rehab, or do I need to start looking for a new job.  I wont give up on my changes, I just want a real answer.  
Related Discussions
9 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
63984_tn?1385441539
A couple of questions... what part of the heart was damaged by the MI?  How long ago did you have the heart attack? Do you have other heart issues like heart valve leakage, etc?