Caregivers Community
Nutrition, Calories, Hydration, Elderly
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to caregiver issues, advocacy, anger, anxiety, assistive technology, behavior problems, cancer, community care, day care, dementia, depression, end of life issues, feeling overwhelmed, friends and family, grief, guilt, health surrogacy, isolation, legal issues, long term planning, nutrition, stress, transportation, vacations, and your health.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Nutrition, Calories, Hydration, Elderly

Some comments on providing nutrition and hydration to the elderly. Additional input welcomed.
Related Discussions
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
144586_tn?1284669764
I am still learning about caring for the super elderly, and unfortunately have a long ways to go. I fired 33 aides hired to assist in the care of my 103 year old sweety-pie untilI hired two with no experience but intelligence and compassion and trained them myself. One of the big problems is to insure proper nutrition and I have found there is only "one way to skin the racoon". Not two ways. Not three ways. ONE way. I have them keep a permanently bound book with no erasures allowed that contains a daily record of all activities from dawn until dusk with everything noted in national guard time. Hydration is kept track of by using only two and a half ounce cups ONCE. After being used they are stacked on the table. Adding the cups at the end of the day provides a precise measure of daily hydration. Getting to calories. The aides must make note of every single calorie taken in. Just like in the second grade insist they "show their work". One banana rquals 100 calories. One piece of chocolate is 15 calories. One organic egg equals 75 calories. I prepared a long printed table of caloric equivelants. The basal metabilism for my sweety-pie is 980 calories a day. Search on the net tofindout the appropriate number for your loved one.